Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 24th, 2007

His Change

Yesterday we went to Hubby’s aunt house for a CNY gathering and Ethyl was so excited to see a pair of 4mo twins.

Upon seeing how excited his girl is over the babies, Hubby asked a question that he seldom asked and had always tried to avoid.

“Ethyl, you like babies? Ask Mommy to give you a baby you want?”

I was astonished by his words. Really too stunned to react. I brushed off by saying…

“Ok, Mommy will try later, not now ok?”

Later on, SIL came to me and said

“Meimei loves babies hor? See, she kept looking at them. I think if she will love the younger sibling if she has one.”

“Yah lor, but very strange, she kept asking for one, until I told her she must share everything with the baby and she stopped asking. Now, she sees babies and she knows how to sayang babies with gentle strokes etc”

Best of all, SIL kept telling Ethyl to ask me for babies…gosh, I am not a baby churning machine!

The Mom of the twins chatted with me

“It’s almost time to plan for a second child. Else the age gap will be too wide and it’s tiring”

“I know, but somehow…I won’t know how to manage 2 kids. Ethly is sensitive, and I have channelled all my attention on her since she was our first born. If the second one comes along, I don’t know how to manage her feelings.”

“Yah, I can see that she is your darling…somehow you will manage”

I really pray to get all the wisdom in nurturing child(ren) who will share and love each other.

Back to Hubby’s change…I kept thinking about what he mentioned to Ethyl and asked him on our way back home.

“Dear, how come you tell Ethyl to ask me give her a baby since she likes so much?”

*he paused* “I think we can have babies, but I know not now”

“Yah, when I get a job and settle down, we’ll plan”

I can see from his rear mirror’s reflection that he is sincere in his words. Though it really baffles me (he seldom express himself well) on the words he told Ethyl in my presence, I am glad at the same time.

Now, the one who’s not ready is me! Hahah…I actually told him I am afraid of looking after a newborn now. Ethyl’s beginning to get less dependent on me, and since he’s unable to help much, it’ll be exhausting for me, especially if I work, preggy, and after that looking after 2 kids.

ARGH!!! What am I doing?!! We can plan, but may not always have…so, let’s just pray that I get all the wisdom and energy to be a super mommy when time comes!

Read Full Post »